4am – N. E. Skull

Standard

 
Picture 97

I dove into my wardrobe to rescue
The Collected Poems of Allen Ginsberg
From the the pile of books that it
would soon cease to anchor.
The haggard bedside lamp pointed
towards the book, summoning
a ray from heaven itself as I opened it
and waited like a devout believer awaits
shepherding to a passage or a verse
when they find themselves turning
shoulder to shoulder in the heart of night.
I waited for Allen to give me the answer
in the form of some untoward rhyme
that would have meant nothing to me
had it not been for my desperation.
And shook him though I did,
I could not bring myself to wake him.

17 thoughts on “4am – N. E. Skull

  1. The lines, “when they find themselves turning / shoulder to shoulder in the heart of night.” are stunning. This is a fine poem.

  2. You have a wonderful way with words N.E! Can I call you N.E?
    Allen Ginsberg couldn’t have said it better!

    BTW. Thanks for gracing the pages of Cliff’s Notes!

  3. I agree with Dana – “shoulder to shoulder in the heart of night” is a beautifully crafter phrase that we all can relate to. Love it!

  4. Yo Skull – interesting poem.
    I heard Ginsberg reading his stuff live in Colorado in the 1980’s.

    I used to love Planet News (“Television Was a Baby Crawling Toward That Deathchamber” !).
    His style bothers me now, but I still respect it.

  5. I agree with all that praise above, and wish only to add, sometimes you need to hear your own voice and not that of another. But sometimes, in hearing the voices of others, your own voice chimes in finally. Here your voice sings through. 🙂

Leave a Reply

