Tell Them To Wait – N. E. Skull

Standard


This poem was inspired by the men known as the West Memphis Three. Though opinions are divided, I strongly believe that these men were wrongly convicted, even if solely on the basis of a lack of conclusive evidence. The grace with which they carried themselves throughout their incarceration is a constant inspiration to me and I carry their story in my heart every single day.
Just one wrong conviction is too many. Today, thousands of innocent people sit in prison cells all over the world while they wait for justice that may never come.

Don’t let the flowers bloom while I’m gone –
Tell them to wait; I’ll be back before long.
Don’t let the daisies flood the front lawn –
Tell them to wait; I’ll be back before long.

Don’t let the sun rise and redden your skin –
Tell it to wait; I’ll be back before then.
Don’t let the water invite to you swim –
Tell it to wait; I’ll be back before then.

Don’t let the leaves fall and strip the trees bare –
Tell them to wait because I’m nearly there.
Don’t let the heavens breathe down crisper air –
Tell them to wait because I’m nearly there.

Don’t let the snow turn the sky a dark grey –
Tell it to wait; I’ll be home any day.
Don’t let the hummingbirds fly far away –
Tell them to wait; I’ll be home any day.

Don’t let the flowers bloom while I’m gone –
Tell them to wait; I’ll be back before long.

34 thoughts on “Tell Them To Wait – N. E. Skull

  1. Beautiful poem made even more moving by knowing the origin of your muse here – I agree wholeheartedly with you about the West Memphis Three. Well done on both the beauty of your writing and the generosity of your topic!! 🙂 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tell Them To Wait – N. E. Skull #DeathPenalty #Injustice #Poetry | johndwmacdonald

  3. Wow! I felt that! It speaks to that part of us that we are often not bold enough to share. That part that says “wait for me, I don’t want to miss this too”. Mi likey! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.

  4. love this poem- i’ve only recently heard of the West Memphis Three & this poem is just a beautiful way of honouring their plight. such a pleasure to read

  5. “Just one wrong conviction is too many.” I fully agree and am aware of many wrong convictions, manipulation of evidence, sloppy investigation.There is law, but no real justice.

    Powerfully written, good message.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

  6. hi – i have followed closely the case of the Memphis 3 – i really like your poem. So glad that they are finally free although i realise that until the guilty party is brought to justice and they are vindicated they are not totally free – lets hope it happens one of these days.

  7. I was pleasantly surprised to find poetry when I came to your page to thank you for visiting The Climax Papers. This is a moving poem, nice flow, and restrained in its emotion. Your other poems are similarly well crafted.

  8. Pingback: “Word Press Family Award” Acceptance & Nominations | Iam Who Iam

  9. I had not heard of this case but your lovely poem prompted me to look it up. I agree with grase…this does resemble an old blues song and I can see it being put to music.

Leave a Reply

